M83 current and former band members

M83 is the electronic music project led by the Frenchman Anthony Gonzalez since 2001. Initially, the band was featuring Nicolas Fromageau but the duo parted ways shortly after the release of the second album in 2003. M83 vocalist and keyboardist Morgan Kibby left the project at the beginning of 2016 for a solo career. The ascending star Kaela Sinclair took her place after winning auditions just in time before Anthony Gonzalez and M83 went on 2016 world tour

Watch M83 perform and you will see a band much like any other - with two guitarists, a bassist, a drummer and a synth player. But the band, in its present-day form, is entirely Anthony Gonzalez' brainchild. He writes all of the music and records all of the instruments by himself (if sometimes aided by his brother Yann). It was formed in 2001 as a partnership between himself and co-founder Nicolas Fromageau in Antibes, France; the name is not some kind of code or French text-speak, but rather the name of a galaxy - and this fascination with science and nature has been a consistent theme in the M83 band's music and aesthetic throughout its existence.

Fromageau left after the release of 2005's Before the Dawn Heals Us to pursue an independent career, but that hasn't slowed down Gonzalez, who has released several albums by himself since. In 2010, Gonzalez decided to up sticks and relocate from the quiet French resort town to the hustle and bustle of Los Angeles, drawn by the city's burgeoning music scene. This change of scenery has influenced not only his touring schedule, but even his approach to writing.

Current members of M83 project:

Anthony Gonzalez - lead singer
Jordan Lawlor - multi-instrumentalist
Loïc Maurin - drummer
Kaela Sinclair - keyboardist, vocalist
Joe Berry - keyboards/sax/ewi

Former members of M83 project:

Nicolas Fromageau
Pierre-Marie Maulini
Yann Gonzalez
Phillip Kern
Ian Young
Morgan Kibby

© m83tourdates.com, 2024.